for oboe and instrumental ensemble

MAYA’S DREAM was commissioned by the Conservatoire of Amsterdam in 2005 on the occasion of the 65th birthday of composer Daan Manneke. Maya is Sanskrit for illusion.

An excerpt from 'The Illustrated Life of the Buddha': "That night his mother Maya, dreamt that a white elephant carrying a white lotus in its trunk came and entered her womb through her right flank. At that moment, musical instruments started playing spontaneously, rivers stopped streaming, everywhere flowers started flowering and the lakes were covered with lotus blossoms. Having carried the Boddhisattva in her womb for precisely ten lunar months, Maya gave birth to him. Seven days after his birth, his mother died and was born in the Tushita heaven."

This work contains three parts : Desire, Love and Enlightenment.
It was composed for oboe solo, 2 violins, alto flute, clarinet, bassoon, trombone and contrabass.

MAYA’S DREAM is the second part in the TANTRIC CYCLE, of which all compositions are inspired by Oriental music and phylosphy.



Norsk Musikforlag (publisher)

Download PDF (sample)


for oboe and instrumental ensemble
(+/- 10’)
Commissioned by Conservatoire of Amsterdam
instrumentation: oboe/ 2vlns/ alto fl, cl/ bn (or bcl), tbn, cb
first performance: 22 April 2005, Conservatory of Amsterdam, Amsterdam