for clarinet and string orchestra

The original version of this work was composed in 1990 for CLARINET & STRING QUARTET, a commission of the E. Ysaÿe Ensemble. In 2007 it was orchestrated for the Charlemagne Orchestra, with conductor Bartholomeus-Henri Van de Velde.

This work is built on a free use of the 12-tone technique. The first part Furioso is composed of obsessive rhythms in which melodical phrases develop little by little.

After the quiet and slower second part Misterioso, Comodo takes off with a mechanical pizzicato by the 2 violins. Following some melodical arabesques by the clarinet, this movement ends with a cadense for the clarinet, which passes on to the lower register and dies out gradually.

The last part Deciso is getting into a huge climax, built up with unisono passages and finishes suddenly in a mysterious coda, in which percussion effects for the strings and multiphonics for the clarinet create a surprising ending.


Available with Wim Henderickx


Norsk Musikforlag (publisher)


for clarinet and string orchestra
original version for clarinet and string quartet (1990)
commissioned by the E. Ysaÿe Ensemble
(+/- 14’)