for recorder and orchestra + electronics

RECORDER CONCERTO (Empty Mind I) was originally composed for OBOE AND ELECTRONICS and was inspired by the work and the ideas and philosophy of the late American artist Agnes Martin.

In 2015 Wim Henderickx made a version for RECORDER AND ELECTRONICS and in 2017 for recorder, orchestra and electronics, both versions specially for Erik Bosgraaf (recorder).

Empty Mind I has 6 parts (5 + 1), which may be performed in any order. The composer's main objective was to break open time and space. He combined an open form (where the order of the different parts can be freely chosen) and a closed form (with a clearly defined score). In each section, there is a strictly composed passage that displays a continuity between the parts, and a number of free passages where the soloist can follow his own path with the material.

A strictly composed melody, based on a keen interest in microtonality, is repeatedly interrupted by these free elements , with extended techniques on the recorder, such as multiphonics, glissandi, etc.

The electronics consist of a harmonic drone (a tapestry of sound) in the different layers. On the other hand, the sound of the recorder will be manipulated live, which will create a rich harmonic spectrum, based solely on the sound of this solo instrument.
As a result of the spatialization (using geomectric patterns) the sound will fill the entire space. This spatial effect will be reinforced by performing the successive parts in different areas of the venue.


Available with Wim Henderickx


Norsk Musikforlag (publisher)


RECORDER CONCERTO (Empty Mind I) for recorder and orchestra + electronics

(+/- 27')
first performance: 11 October 2018 at Klokgebouw Strijp-S, Eindhoven (Nl)
Erik Bosgraaf, recorder
Philharmonie Zuid-Nederland, conductor Wim Henderickx
Jorrit Tamminga, electronics
in collaboration with Playfield. / FASHIONCLASH