for trumpet, alto flute, viola and percussion

This work is the 5th part in the TANTRIC CYCLE , a series of compositions inspired by Eastern philosphy.

The original version was written for MEZZO-SOPRANO, ALTO FLUTE, VIOLA AND PERCUSSION in commission of Inspiratum on the occasion of the 60th birthday of Axel Vervoordt.
There were performances in Venice, Paris, Antwerp and Utrecht with Wim Henderickx as conductor.

In 2010 the composer rewrote this work in a version for trumpet, alto flute, viola and percussion for performance in Neuss (Germany).

The composition contains 3 main parts : Darkness, Meditation and Light and 2 interludes.
These interludes are constructed mantras by the composer. The first interlude is rhythmical, the second is more melodious.

The installation of the musicians in the space is very important.

Also the illumination has an important role. Part 1 must be performed in the dark with only the musicians lighted, part 2 in the half-dark and part 3 fully illuminated.

The composition is - as other works in the TANTRIC CYCLE - based on the tantric mode, a self constructed microtonal musical scale. From this mode series were constructed to become the basics for the melodical and harmonical material of the work.

On the rhythmical level there was chosen for a duality beween exact time indications and a more free indication.  Different serial procedures were used.


Available with Wim Henderickx


Norsk Musikforlag (publisher)


for trumpet, alto flute, viola and percussion
(+/- 32')
first performance: September 19, 2010 at the Langen Foundation in Neuss (D)
by members of the HERMESensemble 
with Wim Henderickx as conductor
Manu Mellaerts, trumpet
Marc Tooten, viola
Karin Defleyt, alto flute
Gaetan La Mela, percussion