LAGRIMAS (Tears of Hope)

for flute, clarinet, harp and string quartet

LAGRIMAS (Tears of Hope) for 7 musicians was commissioned by the Royal Flemish Philharmonic (deFilharmonie) in 2016.
The statue of the Madonna della Macarena in Seville, Spain was the inspiration for this work. These lagrimas (tears) are also tears of hope for the composer, hope rather than the fear and violence of these confusing times.

Lagrimas has the same instrumentation as Ravel's ‚Introduction et Allegro’. Ravel's work incorporates the idea of the concertino, in which the harp has a central role. In Lagrimas the winds, strings and harp are of more or less equal importance. Sometimes it is often winds versus strings with the harp as a catalyst.

Nine separate episodes, each with its own character, ranging from almost complete silence to exuberant energy, blend into one another. Some parts are very precisely written at the rhythmical level, other parts leave the performers a lot of freedom and suggest a non-linear perception of time.The idea of space is to be found only in the score, not in the arrangement of the instruments. It is a pure form of chamber music in which the musicians communicate with each other and there is deliberately, no conductor.

Wim Henderickx joined the Royal Flemish Philharmonic (deFilharmonie) as artist in residence in August 2013. He developed a close relationship with this orchestra and considers it a privilege to be able to compose chamber music alongside the large orchestral works for these wonderful musicians.


Available with Wim Henderickx.


Norsk Musikforlag (publisher)


for flute, clarinet, harp and string quartet (2016)
(+/- 15’)
commissioned by the Royal Flemish Philharmonic
premiere: 12 June 2016 at Amuz, Antwerp (BE)
by soloists of the Royal Flemish Philharmonic