for violoncello and orchestra

Cello Concerto (Sangita) was commissioned by the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra in 2018. In 2013 he joined this orchestra as Artist in Residence.
In 2019 he composed a version of this work for CELLO AND ELECTRONICS.

The Sanskrit word Sangita refers to music and performance arts in the Indian traditions.

This composition contains 9 episodes, presenting various “rasas” or states of mind, inspired by the Sangita Ratnakara texts of Carngadeva.

1 - Amazed
2 - Anxious
3 - Sad
4 - Humoristic
5 - Angry
6 - Erotic
7 - Divine
8 - Glorious
9 - Peaceful

The world premiere of Cello Concerto (Sangita) with Jean-Guihen Queyras,
the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra and conductor Klaus Mäkelä
at the Cello Biennale Amsterdam
on 25 October 2018 (20:00) can be re-listened on
: www.nporadio4.nl


Available with Wim Henderickx


Norsk Musikforlag (publisher)

Download PDF (sample)


CELLO CONCERTO (Sangita) (2018)
(+/- 23')
for cello and orchestra
commissioned by the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra
co-production Cello Biënnale Amsterdam
World premiere: 25 October 2018, Muziekgebouw aan ’t IJ in Amsterdam (NL)
Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, conductor Klaus Mäkelä
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello